The Class of 1980 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize

Awarded to annual brother of the year recipient

Brother Dolly Hailstork: 1915 - 2010

Every pledge class includes a member whose selfless contributions to the fraternity demand exceptional recognition. The Class of 1980 Aldophus C. Hailstork Prize is an annual award designed to honor a brother who has demonstrated his unwavering commitment and unparalleled leadership throughout his time as an active member of the fraternity.

Dolly, Adolphus C. Hailstork II, was born near Ithaca, New York, on September 9, 1915. He served as cook for the Sigma Pi Fraternity brothers for 32 years. A former boxer and Negro League baseball star, Dolly was the soul of Sigma Pi from 1960 to 1992. He never forgot a single name or hometown of a brother of Sigma Pi. The chapter initiated Dolly posthumously into the brotherhood in October 2011.
The class of 1980 established and funded the Class of 1980 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize fund at their class reunion to recognize the Annual Brother of the Year Award.


Recipient is a member of the senior class:
The full scope of an undergraduate brother's contributions to the fraternity can only be measured at the end of his undergraduate years. Recipients have demonstrated an unyielding commitment to Sigma Pi from beginning to end.

Recipient has tangibly exemplified the ideals of Sigma Pi:
Winners of this award have consistently maintained high scholarly standing, diffused culture in their surrounding community, and developed the character of themselves and those around them.

Selection Procedure

Each year, the undergraduate executive board will select a candidate whom it believes best fits the criteria of the award. The board will then submit its recommendation to the alumni executive board for its approval. Upon ratification from the alumni board, the recipient will be notified by the undergraduate executive board at the spring Orchid Ball.


The winner of the award will receive a monetary prize from the Class of 1980 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize fund and a plaque commemorating his achievement, which will be displayed in the Sigma Pi house.

The 2017 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize Recipient:
Jake Howell ’18 and Griffin Py ’18

Jake Howell ’18

Griffin Py ’18

Every year, Sigma Pi awards the Adolphus Dolly C. Hailstork Jr. Brother of the Year award to a senior class member of the chapter. The Brother of the Year (or BOY), is awarded to honor a brother who has demonstrated his unwavering commitment and unparalleled leadership throughout his time as an active member of the fraternity. This year, the chapter chose two recipients: Jake Howell and Griffin Py. Each of these brothers served the chapter as Sage: Jake during the 2016–2017 academic year and Griffin during the 2017–2018 academic year. Both of these men demonstrated selfless commitment to the betterment of Sigma Pi, both through their roles as officers and through their roles as brothers and friends.

Both of these men have led the chapter through periods of progress and growth and guided the chapter though challenges along its way. Both truly live and breathe for this brotherhood. They have both demonstrated immeasurable commitment to their brothers as individuals, to Mu Chapter as a whole, and to the greater Cornell community. Congratulations Jake and Griffin, and thank you for your commitment and leadership during your tenures as undergraduate members. We look forward to witnessing your future successes and your future contributions to Sigma Pi!

Past Recipients

2017: Justin Bredahl ’17
2016: Brandon Choi ’16
2015: Nick Wint ’15
2014: Brendon Viña ’14
2013: Zachary Smith ’13
2012: Tyler Ramsden ’12
2011: Aaron Klein ’11
2010: Evan Alan Lanouette ’10
2009: Anthony Majette ’09
2008 special award: Seth Mosner ’09
2008: Timothy Horsburgh ’08
2007: Lance Fraenkel ’07
2006: Alexander Deyle ’06

Make a Gift

For further information on the Class of 1980 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize, contact Chantal Champagne, Director, Donor Relations, Alumni Affairs and Development at 607-254-7196, or visit Cornell Giving and type in the Class of 1980 Adolphus C. Hailstork Prize Fund #0001589. Gifts to the fund are treated as gifts to Cornell. Cornell manages the funds as part of its endowment. As with Cornell's endowment, a portion of the earnings are reinvested as principal and a portion of the earnings are released every year to make prize awards. All gifts to the fund are tax deductible for Federal Income Tax purposes.